Manchester Legal Awards 2023 Shortlist Announced

  • 20/04/2023

Thank you to everyone who entered the Manchester Legal Awards this year! We had a fabulous response, and the judges had a tough time marking all the entries!

The shortlist is now available below.

Congratulations to all those who made it to the shortlist and the best of luck for Judging Day on Friday 12th May. Keep your eyes peeled for an email from Fran with details of the Judging Day timetable!

And don’t forget to book your tickets here!

CSR Champions of the Year
Brabners LLP

Health & Wellbeing Champions of the Year
IMD Solicitors LLP
Leigh Day
MLP Law Limited
Myerson Solicitors

Trainee/Paralegal/Apprentice of the Year
Emily Boothman HCC Solicitors
Liam Maguire, Irwin Mitchell
Lucy Meakin, Weightmans
Lydia Parrington, Jeffries Solicitors
Jack Trowsdale DWF Law

Solicitor of the Year
Kelly Darlington, Farleys
Shane Smith, Slater and Gordon
Terry Wilcox, Hudgell Solicitors

Equality, Diversity & Inclusion Champions of the Year
BPP University Law School, Manchester
Slater Heelis
University of Law, Manchester

Team of the Year – Corporate/Commercial
Brabners LLP
Browne Jacobson LLP
Eversheds Sutherland
Kuit Steinart Levy LLP

Team of the Year – Crime
Burton Copeland LLP
Olliers Solicitors
Slater Heelis

Team of the Year – Employment
Kuit Steinart Levy LLP
Mills & Reeve
Trowers & Hamlins

Team of the Year – Family
Brabners LLP
McAlister Family Law
Slater Heelis

Team of the Year – Litigation
Brabners LLP
Eversheds Sutherland
Weightmans LLP

Team of the Year – PI/Clinical Negligence
Fletchers Solicitors
JMW Solicitors
Leigh Day

Team of the Year – Private Client
Brabners LLP
JMW Solicitors LLP
Private Client Solicitors

Team of the Year – Property
Brabners LLP
Kuit Steinart Levy LLP
Mills & Reeve
Pannone Corporate LLP

Team of the Year – Regulatory
Kuit Steinart Levy LLP
Markel Law
Pannone Corporate
Ward Hadaway

Barrister/KC of the Year
Abigail Bennett, JMW Solicitors LLP
Lisa Edmunds, Unit Chambers
Giles Maynard-Connor KC, Exchange Chambers
Andrew Ward, Exchange Chambers

Partner of the Year
Stephen Attree, MLP Law
Ros Bever, Irwin Mitchell
Ruth Peters, Olliers
Richard Scorer, Slater and Gordon

Barristers’ Chambers of the Year
18 St John Street Chambers
Deans Court Chambers
Exchange Chambers
St John’s Buildings Chambers

Law Firm of the Year – small (1-5 partners)
Aequitas Legal
IMD Solicitors LLP
Pearson Solicitors and Financial Advisers Limited
Private Client Solicitors

Law Firm of the Year – medium (5-20 partners)
Farleys Solicitors
Hall Brown Family Law
HCC Solicitors
Hugh Jones Solicitors

Law Firm of the Year – large (20+ partners)
Eversheds Sutherland
Mills & Reeve
Slater and Gordon

Lifetime Achievement Award
This Award is voted for, and in the gift of, the Manchester Law Society Council, and will be announced LIVE at the Manchester Legal Awards Dinner on Thursday, 8th June 2023