Nominations open for the 22nd Annual Inspiring Women Awards

  • 13/02/2014

Over the past 22 years of honouring women in the North West for the prestigious Inspiring Women Awards, we’ve found females who inspire others and are viewed as role models…now it’s time again to nominate remarkable women. But we need to know by 4th April 2014..

At the 2013 Awards, joint Community Award winners were Jo Thompson and Nicola Graham. Jo started Millie’s Trust following the death of her baby daughter who died on her third day at nursery following a choking accident, to campaign for better First Aid knowledge and practice. Nicola Graham, started Reuben’s Retreat in memory of her son, Reuben who died aged 23 months from a rare brain tumour. Both women showed and shared their courage with the audience in the face of extreme tragedy. Business Winner, Professor Dame Nancy Rothwell was recognised for her contribution to the success of the University of Manchester.
Sue Woodward OBE was awarded the Creative & Media category for her work with The Sharpe project. Paul Solomon was recognised as the BBC Radio Manchester heroine for setting up the Match4Martin campaign. Lisa Tse, co-founder of Sweet Mandarin was recognised in the Entrepreneur category for the success of the Sweet Mandarin sauces, now exported to China. The winner of the Inspiring Young Woman Award went to Kirsty Ashton MBE for her untiring charity work and support.

Founder of the Awards, businesswoman Jacqueline Hughes Lundy of Olivia Henry Associates, says “we want to keep publicising these remarkable stories from women who have made a difference to their lives or the lives of others.  These Awards provide a wonderful opportunity to recognise and showcase these achievements and to say thank you to our unsung heroines. ”

The Awards Lunch will take place at the Midland Hotel in Manchester on Thursday 15th May 2014 when the winners will be announced. Compering the event and interviewing the finalists on the day will be BBC Radio Manchester presenter, Andy Crane.

Guest Award presenters include BBC Breakfast presenter Louise Minchin and former The Apprentice star, Neil Clough.

How to nominate:
Closing date for nominations is Friday 4th April 2014

There are six categories – Business Award, Entrepreneur (for businesses between 1-5 years) Award; The BBC Radio Manchester Community Award and the Inspiring Young
Woman Award (aged 16-25years). Two new categories for 2014 are: The Technology Award and The nurturing female talent Award (which is a company award).
The Inspiring Women Awards supports the Inspiring Young Women Foundation.

Full details of the Awards, previous winners and full Terms and Conditions are available on

Email – [email protected]
Via the web –
Phone – 0161 926 8568 (ansaphone)

Attend the Lunch:
[email protected]

Further details can be obtained from;-
Jacqueline Hughes-Lundy – 07753 881455
[email protected]