The Association of Women Solicitors Awards 2011

  • 04/07/2011

The Association of Women Solicitors’ annual awards are now open for nominations; with a closing date of 18 July 2011. For full details please contact [email protected] (Further information at the bottom of thise page.)

Do you know a great woman solicitor who’s excellence deserves to be recognised? Please pass on this message; as we welcome applications from all areas of law whether they practice in-house, private practice, government or as a partner or practice owner.

The eight category winners will be put forward for the Association of Women Solicitors/The Law Society Legal Business Woman of the Year Award to announced at the Legal Excellence Awards ceremony on 18 October 2011.

The AWS category winners will announced on Thursday 8 September 2011 at our awards dinner to be held in London.

The Association of Women Solicitors Awards 2011

The AWS recognises that there are many outstanding women solicitors providing legal services. Some will be junior solicitors at the beginning of their legal career, others will be more senior. Some may work in-house in companies, government or work in private practice. What binds all these women solicitors together is that they exhibit phenomenal talent and reveal best practice in their chosen areas of practice.

The AWS wants to recognise and reward women who are or will be the role models for future women solicitors. By celebrating the success of such women solicitors the AWS wants to send out a message to the wider business community that women solicitors are successful business women managing their legal practices.

Women solicitors, junior or senior, who work at an influential level within their organisation by organising and being responsible for a discrete legal area or practice are the women solicitors the AWS wants to recognise. By recognising such women the AWS hopes that it will also increase the profile of women solicitors generally and that this will be a good influencing factor in helping to eradicate women’s under-representation in positions of responsibility within the legal profession.

The AWS will recognise and reward outstanding talent in the following categories:

(1) Best Woman Solicitor in a Large/Medium Practice;

(2) Best Woman Solicitor in a Small Practice;

(3) Best Woman Solicitor in a Legal Aid Practice;

(4) Best Woman Solicitor in an In-House/ Employed Solicitor Team;

(5) Best Woman Solicitor undertaking Pro Bono Work

(6) Best Woman Solicitor in a Probate Practice

(7) Best Woman Solicitor Retaining and Developing Legal Talent

(8) Best Woman Solicitor in a Property Practice

Individuals are invited to nominate themselves for one of the particular awards. All nominees must be a member of the AWS.

Nominations opened on Monday 6 June 2010 and will close on Monday 18 July 2011. Nomination forms can be obtained from Judith McDermott at The Law Society on 0207 320 5793 [email protected] Completed forms (4 hard copies) should be received by the AWS Awards Committee on or before 5pm on 18 July 2011. Forms should be sent to the AWS Awards Committee c/o Judith McDermott, The Law Society, 113 Chancery Lane, London.WC2A 1 PL / DX56 – LONDON/CHANCERY LANE

Short listed candidates will be called for interview on either 3 or 4 August 2011. The interviews will be held at the Law Society, 113 Chancery Lane, London, WC2A 1PL.